Winner will be announced Dec. 11

Updated: December 1, 2003, 9:00 PM ET
Associated Press

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Pittsburgh's Larry Fitzgerald, Oklahoma's Mark Clayton and Southern Cal's Mike Williams were named Monday as finalists for the Biletnikoff Award.

Named after the Florida State All-American and NFL Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff, the award goes annually to the nation's top receiver.

Charles Rogers of Michigan State won in 2002.

The winner will be announced Dec. 11 in a two-hour awards presentation televised by ESPN.

Fitzgerald, a sophomore, has 86 catches for 1,595 yards and 22 touchdowns and has caught at least one touchdown pass in a record 18 straight games, shattering Rogers' previous NCAA mark of 14.

Williams, also a sophomore, has 80 receptions for 1,167 yards and 14 touchdowns, and Clayton has 71 catches for 1,289 yards and 15 TD's for the top-ranked Sooners.

Biletnikoff played at Florida State from 1962-64, becoming the school's first All-American in football. He spent his professional career with the Oakland Raiders from 1965-78.

A native of Erie, Pa., Biletnikoff was the MVP in Oakland's 1977 Super Bowl victory over the Minnesota Vikings.

Copyright 2003 by The Associated Press