White beats Manning for QB award

12/11/2003 - Oklahoma Sooners

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- AP Player of the Year Jason White
won the Davey O'Brien quarterback award on Thursday night.

White, who had his previous two seasons cut short by knee
injuries, rebounded to post one of the more productive seasons

White completed 64 percent of his passes for 3,744 yards, with
40 touchdowns and eight interceptions to beat out Mississippi's Eli Manning and North Carolina State's Philip Rivers.

The third-ranked Sooners won their first 12 games of the season
and made it to the BCS title game at the Sugar Bowl against LSU
despite losing the Big 12 title game 35-7 to Kansas State last

White struggled against the Wildcats, going 27-for-50 for 298
yards, no touchdowns and two interceptions.

The announcement was made during the Home Depot college football
awards show on ESPN.