Elliott's 59 TD passes an all-division record

Updated: December 16, 2004, 2:45 PM ET
Associated Press

Brett Elliott's record-breaking season made him an All-American.

The Linfield College quarterback with an NCAA single-season record 59 touchdown passes leads The Associated Press Little All-America team for the best players in Division II, III and NAIA that was announced Thursday.

Elliott, who transferred from Utah to the tiny Division III school in Oregon after losing his job to Heisman finalist Alex Smith, was joined on the first-team by Fort Valley State's Derrick Wimbush. The senior running back ran for 1,840 yards and was a finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy, given to the top player in Division II.

Colorado School of Mines quarterback Chad Friehauf won the Harlon Hill last week after throwing 4,646 yards and 39 touchdowns to lead the Miners to their first playoff win and a 12-1 record. But he had to settle for second-team Little All-American because of Elliott.

The junior from Lake Oswego, Ore., has passed for 4,313 yards with just nine interceptions, guiding Linfield (12-0) to an appearance in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl in Salem, Va.. The Wildcats play Mary Hardin-Baylor (13-1) for the D-III national title Saturday.

``Individual records are a reflection on the team,'' Elliott said. ``We have one more game, and then after that all the records I can tell my kids about or something.''

Last week, Elliott broke the all-division record of 56 TD passes, set by Mississippi Valley State's Willie Totten in 1984, when he tossed three TD passes in semifinals against Rowan.

``He's the best quarterback we've played this year by far,'' Rowan safety Eric Bailey said. ``His accuracy and his arm strength are amazing.''

Mary Hardin-Baylor placed two players on the three AP All-America teams -- offensive lineman Jeff Oliver was selected to the second team and his linemate, Matt Bush, is a third-teamer.

Wooster running back Tony Sutton, who leads Division III with 2,240 yards rushing and 31 touchdowns, made the first team for the second straight season as did Ferris State linebacker Kevin Myers.

Pittsburg State offensive lineman Nathan Baker leads the first-team offensive line. He's joined by Nick Didier of Concordia-Moorhead; Scott Blum of Rowan; Joe Berger of Michigan Tech; and Todd Herremans of Saginaw Valley State.

The receivers are Winona State's Chris Samps and Bentley's Dallas Mall, and Leonard Weaver of Carson-Newman is the All-American tight end.

Jamaica Rector, a receiver from Northwest Missouri State, was selected to the first team as an all-purpose player.

Kicker Will Rhody from Valdosta State was one of two players selected from the Division II champions. The other was offensive lineman Torrey Howard, who made the third-team.

The Blazers beat Pittsburg State in last week's D-II title game. The Gorillas had one player on each of the three All-America teams, with Baker on the first, running back Germaine Race on the second team and defensive lineman Ryan Meredith on the third team.

Joining Myers on the first-team defense are linemen Kendrick Triplett of North Alabama; Keyonta Marshall of Grand Valley State; Justin Brown of East Central; and Jason Trusnik of Ohio Northern.

Charles Roberts of Fayetteville State (N.C.) and Isaac Sieling of Gustavus Adolphus are the other linebackers.

The defensive backs are Frank Pilato of Washington & Jefferson; Matt Crispell of East Stroudsburg; Walt Williams of Fayetteville State; and Martell Foster of Northwood.

Jeff Williams of Adams State is the punter after averaging 48 yards, best in the nation.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press