Former players, coaches make up new Harris poll

Updated: August 23, 2005, 4:20 PM ET
Associated Press

Terry Bradshaw, Lou Holtz, Steve Largent and Anthony Munoz are among the 114 panelists voting in a new poll the Bowl Championship Series will use this season to determine which teams play in college football's four major bowls, including the national title game.

Who's voting?
The 114 former players, coaches and administrators, and media members who will vote in the Harris Interactive College Football Poll (with affiliation if available):
• Bobby Aillet, Louisiana Tech player
• Gene Bartow, UAB AD
• Bill Battle, Tennessee coach
• Dick Bestwick, Virginia coach
• Joe Biddle, media
• Blaine Bishop, Ball State player
• Kim Bokamper, San Jose State player
• Terry Bradshaw, Louisiana Tech player
• Wilt Browning, media
• Earle Bruce, Ohio State coach
• Brentson Buckner, Clemson player
• Bob Casciola, former president, National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame
• Charlie Cavagnaro, UNLV, Memphis AD
• John Congemi, Pittsburgh player
• Jake Crouthamel, Syracuse AD
• Eddie Crowder, Colorado coach and AD
• Peter Dalis, UCLA AD
• Charles Davis, media
• Pete Dawkins, Army player
• Gerry DiNardo, Indiana coach
• Boots Donnelly, Middle Tennessee AD
• Bill Dooley, North Carolina, Va. Tech coach
• Kevin Duhe, Louisiana-Monroe player
• Spike Dykes, Texas Tech coach
• Bump Elliott, Michigan, Iowa coach
• Bert Emanuel, Rice player
• Boomer Esiason, Maryland player
• Don Fambrough, Kansas coach
• Foge Fazio, Pittsburgh coach
• Bob Frederick, Kansas, Utah AD
• Andy Geiger, Ohio State AD
• David Glazier, current Sr. V.P. Detroit Lions
• Jim Grabowski, Illinois player
• Mike Grace, media
• Bob Grim, Oregon State player
• Pat Haden, USC player
• Dick Harmon, media
• Bob Hammel, media
• Tommy Hicks, media
• Clarkston Hines, Duke player
• Lou Holtz, S. Carolina, Notre Dame coach
• E.J. Holub, Texas Tech player
• David Housel, Auburn AD
• Rocket Ismail, Notre Dame player
• Fred Jacoby, Southwest Conf. commissioner
• Charley Johnson, New Mexico State player
• Blair Kerkhoff, media
• Mike Kern, media
• Roy Kramer, SEC commissioner
• Larry Lacewell, Arkansas State coach and AD
• Dave Lapham, Syracuse player
• George Lapides, media
• Steve Largent, Tulsa player
• Robert Lawless, Tulsa and Kansas president
• Jack Lengyel, Navy, Missouri, Fresno St. AD
• Jim Lessig, MAC commissioner
• Ferd Lewis, media
• Ted Lewis, media
• Mike Lucas, media
• Mike Lude, Washington, Auburn AD
• Tom Luicci, media
• John Mackovic, Arizona coach
• Don Maynard, UTEP player
• Don McCauley, North Carolina player
• Joe McConnell, media
• Mike McGee, South Carolina AD
• Lance McIlhenny, SMU player
• Ray Melick, media
• Ted Miller, media
• Darrell Moody, media
• Jim Morse, Notre Dame player
• Craig Morton, California player
• Jack Moss, media
• Anthony Munoz, USC player
• Chuck Neinas, Big 8 commissioner
• Tim Neverett, media
• Dave Newhouse, media
• George Perles, Michigan St. coach
• Ed Podolak, Iowa player
• John Pont, Indiana, Purdue coach
• Steve Preece, Oregon St player
• Jason Rash
• Homer Rice, Georgia Tech AD
• Pat Richter, Wisconsin AD
• Paul Roach, Wyoming coach
• Kenny Roda, media
• Lou St. Amant
• Harvey Schiller, SEC commissioner
• Dr. Terry Schmidt, Ball State player
• Dick Schultz, Virginia AD; exec. dir. of NCAA
• Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma player
• Dick Sheridan, Furman, N.C. State coach
• Ken Shipp
• Irwin Smallwood, media
• Jim Ray Smith, Baylor player
• Larry Smith, Missouri coach
• Sam Smith, media
• Gary Spani, Kansas State coach
• Ron Stephenson, former player
• Nelson Stokley, La.-Lafayette, coach, AD
• Jim Sweeney, Fresno State coach
• Rick Taylor, Northwestern, Cincinnati AD
• Whit Taylor, Vanderbilt player
• Jack Thompson, Washintgon St. player
• John Toner, Connecticut AD
• Steve Townsend, LSU SID
• Glenn Tuckett, BYU AD
• Max Urick, Iowa State, Kansas State AD
• Roger Valdiserri, Notre Dame SID
• Bob Wagner, Hawaii coach
• Frank Weedon, N.C. State SID
• Frank Windegger, TCU player, coach, AD
• Bill Yeoman, Houston coach
• Hugh Yoshida, Hawaii AD

The Harris Interactive College Football Poll panel is comprised of former college football players, coaches and administrators, plus some media members. The names of its voters were released Monday.

"Harris Interactive has been diligent in creating a voting panel that is balanced, statistically valid, and representative of all I-A conferences and independents," BCS coordinator and Big 12 Conference commissioner Kevin Weiberg said in a statement.

The Harris Poll replaces The Associated Press Top 25 media poll as one of three components in the BCS standings. The USA Today coaches' poll and a compilation of six computer rankings make up the other two-thirds of a team's BCS grade.

The AP poll had been used by the BCS since its inception in 1998, but after last season the AP asked BCS officials to stop using its rankings in their formula.

ESPN pulled its affiliation to the coaches poll after last season.

The Harris panel has numerous big names on it, including NFL Hall of Famers Bradshaw, Largent and Munoz.

Bradshaw played at Louisiana Tech. Munoz was an All-American tackle at USC. Largent played for Tulsa.

Holtz retired from coaching last season, leaving South Carolina. He also made successful stop at Arkansas, Minnesota and Notre Dame.

Among the other former players voting in the Harris Poll are Rocket Ismail, Boomer Esiason, Don Maynard, Lee Roy Selmon and Craig Morton.

Spike Dykes, Gerry DiNardo and Foge Fazio are among the former coaches taking part in the poll.

Former Southeastern Conference commissioner Roy Kramer, whose effort was pivotal in forming the BCS, will also be a Harris poll voter.

The 114-member panel was selected by Harris Interactive Inc., a marketing firm hired by the BCS, out of a group of more than 300 nominations supplied by the Division I-A conferences and Notre Dame.

The voters were chosen to give equal representation to all 11 conferences.

The first Harris poll will be released Sept. 25, four weeks into the college football regular season. Harris poll voters will not be required to make their ballots public until the final poll Dec. 5.

Voters in the coaches' poll agreed for the first time to release their final ballots this season.

The first BCS standings will be released Oct. 17.

Copyright 2005 by The Associated Press