E. Washington's Meyer wins Walter Payton Award

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. -- Eastern Washington quarterback Erik
Meyer won the Walter Payton Award Thursday night as the top
offensive player in Division I-AA.
Meyer, an All-American, threw for 3,616 yards in the regular
season, including 26 touchdowns and five interceptions. He led the
Eagles to the Big Sky Conference's automatic berth in the playoffs.
New Hampshire quarterback Ricky Santos was second in the voting
and Brown running back Nick Hartigan, who led the nation in
rushing, was third.
The award was established in 1987 and is voted on by sports
information directors and media members. William & Mary quarterback
Lang Campbell won the Payton Award last season.
Cal Poly defensive end Chris Gocong won the Buck Buchanan Award
as the top defensive player in I-AA. He had 19 sacks, 24 tackles
for a loss, 79 tackles, three forced fumbles and two fumble
New Hampshire coach Sean McDonnell won the Eddie Robinson Award
as the top head coach after guiding the Wildcats to a 10-0 regular
season record, the team's best since 1994.
The awards were presented on the eve of the I-AA championship
game between Appalachian State and Northern Iowa.