Pac-10: Refs should've called penalty
The Trojans won the game 34-27.
The trick play resulted in a 25-yard gain that set up Notre Dame's first touchdown. Dave Cutaia, the Pac-10's coordinator of officials, says a foul should have been called for using substitutions to deceive. The Fighting Irish should have been pushed back 15 yards and the down repeated.
Notre Dame coach Charlie Weis would not talk specifically about the Pac-10's assertion that a penalty should have been called. He did say that he let officials know before the game that he intended to use the "kitchen sink" as far as plays.
Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press
MORE COLLEGE FOOTBALL HEADLINES
- Source: Michigan to announce Harbaugh hire
- FSU's Winston says perception of him wrong
- RB Johnson leaving Miami, will enter draft
- Gophers dismiss WR Jones for rules violation
MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM
- Harbaugh To Michigan
- Jim Harbaugh has moved on by agreeing to become Michigan's next coach a day after parting ways with the 49ers, a source told Adam Schefter.