Minnesota 14

(6-4, 3-4 Big Ten)

(5) Wisconsin 38

(9-0, 6-0 Big Ten)

Coverage: ABC/ABC and ETV

3:30 PM ET, November 6, 2004

Camp Randall Stadium, Madison, WI

1 2 3 4 T
MINN 0 7 7 014
#5WIS 21 10 7 038

Top Performers

Passing: J. Stocco (WIS) - 297 YDS, 1 TD

Rushing: A. Davis (WIS) - 31 CAR, 124 YDS, 2 TD

Receiving: E. Wheelwright (MINN) - 6 REC, 83 YDS, 1 TD

Minnesota (6-3) at No. 4 Wisconsin (8-0) 3:30 pm EDT

MADISON, Wisconsin (Ticker) -- Fourth-ranked Wisconsin tries to remain unbeaten and move into a first-place tie atop the Big Ten Conference standings when it hosts struggling Minnesota on Saturday in the battle for Paul Bunyan's Axe.

The Badgers (8-0, 5-0 Big Ten) have not played since a 24-12 home win over Northwestern on October 23.

Anthony Davis ran for a pair of touchdowns for Wisconsin, which was missing injured defensive ends Erasmus James and Jonathan Welsh.

The Badgers trail idle Michigan by one-half game and would earn the Big Ten's top bowl berth were they to finish in a first-place tie by virtue of a superior overall record.

Minnesota (6-3, 3-3) has dropped three of its last four games, including last week's 30-21 setback at Indiana in which it blew an early 14-0 lead.

Bryan Cupito tossed a pair of touchdowns but completed just 11-of-30 passes for 182 yards and an interception for the Golden Gophers, who surprisingly were outgained on the ground, 239-169.

It is the most-played rivalry in Division I-A football with 113 previous meetings, including every year since 1907. The winner gets to keep the Axe on its campus.

The Badgers have won seven of the last nine in the series. However, Minnesota won last year, 37-34, on Rhys Lloyd's 35-yard field goal as time expired. Lloyd then ran across the field to snag the Axe from the Badgers' bench.


Passing Leaders

M. Leidner51.51798118
C. Streveler36.43711
J. Stave53.41350910
T. McEvoy58.070956

Rushing Leaders

D. Cobb31416265.213
M. Leidner1264523.610
M. Gordon34325877.529
C. Clement1479496.59

Receiving Leaders

M. Williams3656915.88
K. Maye1629818.61
A. Erickson5577214.03
S. Arneson2938713.34