Last-minute TD gives Arkansas St. win, Sun Belt share

DENTON, Texas (AP) -- Antonio Warren rushed for 105 yards and scored the game-winning touchdown on a 1-yard run with 30.4 seconds left, giving Arkansas State a 31-24 victory over North Texas and a share of the Sun Belt Conference championship on Saturday.

Arkansas State (6-5, 5-2 Sun Belt) won a tiebreaker and a trip to the New Orleans Bowl when Louisiana-Lafayette beat Louisiana-Monroe 54-21.

The bowl game will be Arkansas State's first postseason appearance since 1987, when it reached the Division I-AA quarterfinals.

North Texas (2-9, 2-5), the Sun Belt champions the past four years, lost its final six games of the season and was winless (0-5) at home for the first time since 1982.

Warren injured his right foot in the second quarter and briefly left the game before returning late in the third quarter. Shermar Bracey gained 139 yards in his place, including an 80-yard touchdown run on the first play of the third quarter.

Patrick Cobbs rushed for 180 yards and a touchdown for North Texas. Cobbs, the NCAA's rushing champion in 2003, surpassed the 1,000-yard mark for the second time in three years and eclipsed 4,000 yards for his career.

The Indians' game-winning drive was kept alive by Kevin Jones'
48-yard catch from Nick Noce on a third-and-8 with 1:30 left. Noce finished with 205 yards passing.

Time expired on the Mean Green's final drive, as Matt Phillips'
pass fell incomplete at the 25-yard-line.

North Texas tied it at 24 with 5:24 remaining on a 4-yard touchdown pass from Phillips to James Mitchell.

The Dec. 20 New Orleans Bowl is being moved from the damaged Louisiana Superdome to Cajun Field on the campus of Louisiana-Lafayette.