Nicholls StateColonelsNICH
4-7, 2-4 Conf
McNeese StateCowboysMCNS
7-4, 5-1 Conf

McNeese State 26, Nicholls State 10

LAKE CHARLES, La. (AP) -- Carlese Franklin caught two touchdown passes and Bryan Smith made a sack to set a school single-season record as McNeese State beat Nicholls State 26-10 on Saturday night and won the Southland Conference title.

The win was the fifth in a row for McNeese, which finished at 5-1 in league play and 7-4 overall. This is also the 11th SLC title for the Cowboys who last made the playoffs in 2003.

Franklin, who has now caught six touchdown passes this season, scored on receptions of 19 and 22 yards.

Smith recorded his 12.5 sack of the season to set the McNeese record.

Also scoring for the Cowboys were Blake Bercegeay on field goals of 27 and 34 yards, which lifted his consecutive streak to nine, and Chris Thomas who got a touchdown on a seven-yard run.

Nicholls State's scoring came on a one-yard run by Corey Buchanan and on a 37-yard field goal by Alex Romero.

McNeese had 328 yards of total offense, compared to Nicholls' 278. Derrick Fourroux completed seven of 11 passes for 79 yards, including a 19-yard touchdown pass to Franklin.

Nicholls State's quarterback Vince Montgomery completed three of five passes for 24 yards, but he was the game's leading rusher with 80 yards on 20 carries.

McNeese's Quinten Lawrence ran for 64 yards on just two rushes and Thomas added 47 yards on 11 carries.

Defensively for the Cowboys, Allen Nelson had 13 tackles and Smith had five, including a sack and two tackles for a loss.



2015 Southland Conference Standings

McNeese State9-010-1
Sam Houston State7-211-4
Central Arkansas7-27-4
Incarnate Word5-46-5
Northwestern State4-54-7
Stephen F Austin4-54-7
Southeastern Louisiana3-5-14-6-1
Abilene Christian3-63-8
Nicholls State2-6-12-8-1
Houston Baptist0-82-9