Stanford's Wiggins only freshman to make list

Updated: February 22, 2005, 6:37 PM ET news services

ATLANTA -- Thirty of the country's top collegiate women's basketball players were named midseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club has announced.

Seimone Augustus, LSU
Jacqueline Batteast, Notre Dame
Steffanie Blackmon, Baylor
Nikki Blue, UCLA
Lindsay Bowen, Michigan St.
Jamie Carey, Texas
Monique Currie, Duke
Jessica Davenport, Ohio State
Jessalyn Deveny, Boston College
Shay Doron, Maryland
Ashley Earley, Vanderbilt
Shyra Ely, Tennessee
Sandora Irvin, TCU
Dionnah Jackson, Oklahoma
Tiffany Jackson, Texas
Temeka Johnson, LSU
Ivory Latta, UNC
Sancho Lyttle, Houston
Janel McCarville, Minnesota
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers
Noelle Quinn, UCLA
Khara Smith, DePaul
Kim Smith, Utah
Ann Strother, Connecticut
Barb Turner, Connecticut
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State
Tani White, Mississippi St.
Candice Wiggins, Stanford
Tanisha Wright, Penn State
Sophia Young, Baylor
The Naismith Trophy, one of several awards honoreeing the national player of the year, is presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

The Top 30 list, which includes two players from several schools, was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country.

The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The list was narrowed down from the preseason list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season.

"These women represent the best college players in the nation," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president.

"The Atlanta Tipoff Club looks forward to seeing which player distinguishes themselves among all others to raise the Naismith Trophy in April."

For the first time, college basketball fans have a voice, through wireless text messaging, in deciding who wins the Naismith Trophy, which is presented by Cingular Wireless.

All 30 players will be eligible for the final ballot in March, when four finalists for the Naismith Trophy are announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors.