Georgia's Humphrey named top frosh

BATON ROUGE, La. -- LSU coach Pokey Chatman -- in her first
season with the Lady Tigers -- was named Southeastern Conference coach of
the year by a vote of the league's coaches.

Chatman seemed more excited about the honors her players won,
including Seimone Augustus, who was selected as the SEC player of
the year.

"I like the way the honors come about for Seimone,'' Chatman
said. "When she can receive such an honor on this team, in this
conference, against our schedule with so many other talented
players around her, just speaks volumes.''

Freshman Sylvia Fowles was named the league's 6th Woman of the
Year. She and former Southern Lab star Quianna Chaney were among
nine players named to the league's All-Freshman Team.

Point guard Temeka Johnson joins Augustus on the All-SEC First
Team. Fowles made the second team, and lost out on Freshman of the
Year honors to Georgia's Tasha Humphrey.

Chatman guided the Lady Tigers to a 27-1 overall record and led
LSU to a perfect 14-0 conference record and the program's first
regular season SEC title. She is the first first-year head coach to
receive the award in the SEC.

"Obviously we have done good job of recruiting and that helps
and these kids have done a good job of accepting our leadership,''
Chatman said. "I understand that I am the leadership of this
program, but I give the kids a lot of credit and I give the staff a
lot of credit.''

Augustus was one of four unanimous selections on the
eight-player first team.

"There are a lot of players deserving of this around the
league,'' said Augustus, second in the SEC averaging 20.0 points
per game, 19.6 in conference play. "Fortunately, I'm the one who
got it. I understand what you have to bring each night.''

No. 1-seeded LSU will play in the SEC tournament at noon Friday
against the winner of the first-round game between No. 8-seeded
Florida (14-13, 5-9) and No. 9 Alabama (13-14, 4-10).

A complete look at the honorees:

First Team
Natasha Brackett, Auburn
*Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
*Seimone Augustus, LSU
Temeka Johnson, LSU
Armintie Price, Ole Miss
*Tan White, Mississippi State
Shyra Ely, Tennessee
*Ashley Earley, Vanderbilt

Second Team
Monique Bivins, Alabama
Bernice Mosby, Florida
Sara Potts, Kentucky
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Amber Watts, Ole Miss
Shanna Zolman, Tennessee
Carla Thomas, Vanderbilt
Dee Davis, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Alexis Ogubie, Auburn
Megan Darrah, Georgia
*Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Sarah Elliott, Kentucky
Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky

Quianna Chaney, LSU
*Sylvia Fowles, LSU
*Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
*Nikki Anosike, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: Pokey Chatman, LSU
Player of the Year: Seimone Augustus, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Defensive Player of the Year: Armintie Price, Ole Miss
6th Woman of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Sarah Pfeifer, Arkansas