Women's hoops HOF to induct UConn's Auriemma

STORRS, Conn. -- Connecticut coach Geno Auriemma leads the
list of those to be inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of
Fame this spring.

The other inductees are former Texas All-American Clarissa
Davis-Wrightsil, Louisiana Tech star Janice Lawrence Braxton,
former Georgia All-American Katrina McClain Johnson, Bentley
College coach Barbara Stevens and Brazilian Olympian Maria Paula
Goncalves da Silva, a person with firsthand knowledge of the
induction process told The Associated Press on the condition of

The class will be officially announced on Sunday during the
women's basketball Tipoff Classic at Texas Tech.

Induction ceremonies are April 28-29 at the Knoxville,
Tenn.-based hall. It will be the eighth class inducted.

Previous inductees include Tennessee coach Pat Summitt, Texas
coach Jody Conradt, former Louisiana Tech coach Leon Barmore and
former players Ann Meyers (UCLA), Nancy Lieberman (Old Dominion) and
Cheryl Miller (USC).

To be eligible, coaches must have at least 20 years' experience
in the women's game and players have to be retired for at least
five years.

Auriemma, through a spokesman, declined comment Tuesday.

"We have no comment because we haven't been officially
notified," UConn spokesman Randy Press said.

The class was reported on the Web site of the Hartford Courant
on Tuesday.

Auriemma, in his 21st season at UConn, has a 557-111 record and
has coached the Huskies to five national championships and seven
Final Fours. The Huskies open the 2005-06 season Saturday at home
against Marist in the first round of the Women's National
Invitation Tournament.