Georgia coach Landers leads '07 Women's Hall class

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Longtime Georgia coach Andy Landers,
four former players and a veteran reporter are among the 2007
inductees in the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame announced on

Landers headlines a group that includes former Texas player
Andrea Lloyd Curry, Louisiana Tech player Pam (Kelly) Flowers and
Tennessee teammates Daedra Charles-Furlow and Bridgette Gordon.
Philadelphia Inquirer reporter Mel Greenberg also will be inducted
during festivities June 8-9 at the hall headquarters in Knoxville.

The six inductees bring to 97 the number of members of the Hall
of Fame, which opened in 1999.

Landers is beginning his 28th season in Athens and has never had
a losing record. He is 657-208 at Georgia and 739-229 overall in
his long coaching career. Landers has led Georgia to the NCAA
Tournament 23 out of 25 times with two national runner-up finishes
and five trips to the Final Four.

Georgia opened the season Sunday against Rutgers at the State
Farm Tipoff Classic in Norman, Okla., where the official
announcement of inductees was made.

Curry was a star on the Texas team that earned a No. 1 ranking
at the end of each of her four years and won the national
championship in 1986 by going 36-0. Curry also won a gold medal in
the 1988 Olympics playing for USA.

Flowers was a three-time All-American and helped the Lady
Techsters to the national championship in 1981 in the AIAW and in
1982 in the first NCAA Tournament.

Charles-Furlow was a two-time Kodak All-American and the first
player in the Southeastern Conference to win the Wade Trophy. She
helped the Lady Vols to the national championship in 1989 and 1991.
She also won an Olympic bronze medal in 1992.

Gordon took Tennessee to four Final Fours, winning the title in
1987 and 1989. She was the Most Outstanding Player of the Final
Four in 1989. She earned an Olympic gold medal in 1988.

Greenberg helped shape coverage of women's collegiate and
professional basketball in his 37 years at the Inquirer. He created
the first weekly college poll in 1976, and it was transmitted two
years later by The Associated Press.

The Hall of Fame's board of directors chooses the new inductees
each year based on certain criteria. Players can only be considered
five years after retiring from their highest level of competition.
Coaches must have coached for at least 20 years. Contributors may
be chosen for making a significant impact on the game.