Nine finalists named for Lieberman award

Nine point guards, including the top ballhandlers for the country's top two teams, have been named finalists for the 9th annual Nancy Lieberman award.

The award is a national project of the Rotary Club of Detroit and honors the nation's top collegiate point guard in women's Division I basketball.

The finalists exemplify the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills that personified Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman during her career. Shannon Bobbitt, who led top-ranked Tennessee to the NCAA title last season, and Renee Montgomery, who led No. 2 Connecticut to a 21-0 start this season, headline the list of finalists.

Sportswriters from across the country voted for the nominees and will select three finalists from this list and one winner at the beginning of April.

The announcement of the three finalists and one winner will be made during the Final Four Weekend (April 6-8, 2008).

This year's award will be presented at a luncheon at The Detroit Athletic Club on April 23, 2008, in Detroit.