Maya Moore named player of year

Connecticut's Maya Moore was named the national player of the year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Moore led the Huskies to their fourth straight Big East title and trip to the Final Four. She averaged 22.5 points, 8.2 rebounds and 4.0 assists a game this season.

Moore is the third two-time USBWA player of the year joining Tennessee's Candace Parker and Chamique Holdsclaw. She is the second player to earn USBWA All-America honors four times joining Oklahoma's Courtney Paris.

Baylor's Kim Mulkey was named the national coach of the year and Baylor's Odyssey Sims national freshman of the year. Mulkey led the Lady Bears to a 34-3 record, the Big 12 championship and the Elite 8. Sims led the Big 12 in 3-point field goal percentage and averaged 13.1 points a game.

The following is the complete list of 2010-11 USBWA women's All-Americans:

Danielle Adams, Texas A&M F/C 6-1 Sr. (Kansas City, Mo.); Brittney Griner, Baylor C 6-8 So. (Houston, Texas); Amber Harris, Xavier F 6-5 Sr. (Indianapolis, Ind.); Shenise Johnson, Miami G 5-11 Jr. (Henrietta, N.Y.); Jantel Lavender, Ohio State C 6-4 Sr. (Cleveland, Ohio); Maya Moore, Connecticut F 6-0 Sr. (Lawrenceville, Ga.); Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford F 6-2 Jr. (Cypress, Texas); Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford G 6-0 Sr. (Brea, Calif.); Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee G/F 6-2 Jr. (Morrilton, Ark.); Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga G 5-8 Sr. (Kent, Wash.)