Charles Jenkins wins Haggerty

Updated: April 26, 2011, 3:11 PM ET
By Kieran Darcy | ESPNNewYork.com

NEW YORK -- Charles Jenkins of Hofstra was named the winner of this year's Haggerty Award, which goes to the Division I college basketball player of the year in the New York metropolitan area.

Jenkins has won the award the past three seasons, making him only the third player in the 78-year history of the award to win it three times. The others were Jim McMillian of Columbia (1968, '69 and '70) and Chris Mullin of St. John's (1983, '84, '85).

The 6-foot-3 senior from Queens finished ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


  • Uncertain Future
    David Wright is confident he'll back to play for the Mets this season, but he just isn't exactly sure when.