Discussion

NFL: Polamalu overturned interception the wrong call

Updated: January 17, 2006, 3:00 AM ET
Associated Press

The NFL said the referee made a mistake: Troy Polamalu caught the ball.

The league acknowledged Monday that referee Pete Morelli erred when he overturned on replay Polamalu's interception of a Peyton Manning pass Sunday in the playoff game between Pittsburgh and Indianapolis.

Mike Pereira, the league's vice president of officiating, said in a statement that Morelli should have let the call on the field stand.

"He maintained possession long enough to establish a catch," Pereira ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ALSO SEE

MORE NFL HEADLINES