Amends? Four Titans on AFC team

Updated: December 19, 2003, 4:22 AM ET
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Steve McNair made the Pro Bowl on Thursday along with three other Tennessee Titans, a year after the team was shunned with no selections yet still reached the AFC title game.

It was the first time in his nine-year career that McNair made the NFL's all-star game. It will be played Feb. 8 in Honolulu.

Kansas City and Baltimore each had eight players on the team, chosen by fans, coaches and players. The vote of each group counted one-third.

The Baltimore contingent was led by linebacker Ray Lewis and offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden, both multiple Pro Bowl selections. The Chiefs chosen included running back Priest Holmes and tight end Tony Gonzalez.

In addition to McNair, the Titans also had linebacker Keith Bulluck, wide receiver Derrick Mason and punter Craig Hentrich.

This season's version of last year's Titans were the Philadelphia Eagles and New England Patriots, each with two. The Patriots (12-2) are tied with Kansas City for the AFC's best record and the Eagles (11-3) are tied with St. Louis atop the NFC.

The Patriots were defensive lineman Richard Seymour and cornerback Ty Law. The Eagles got quarterback Donovan McNabb and cornerback Troy Vincent in the Pro Bowl.

"To have the best team in the NFC and to only have two players picked, we were slighted,'' said McNabb, who was voted to the team for the first time, although he's been to the Pro Bowl three other times as an injury replacement.

Among those shut out in the voting was LaDainian Tomlinson of San Diego, who leads the NFL with 2,011 combined yards. He is fourth in rushing, and was beaten out by the top three: Jamal Lewis of Baltimore, Clinton Portis of Denver and Holmes.

There were the usual strange selections, such as guard Larry Allen of the Cowboys.

Allen has been hurt much of the year and has been in and out of the lineup. Offensive line positions in the game often are permanent -- once a player makes it, he makes it forever, and this will be Allen's eighth Pro Bowl.

Also selected was New York Giants tight end Jeremy Shockey, the only rookie who made it last year. Shockey has 48 receptions to lead all NFC tight ends, but hasn't played since being injured on Nov. 9 and may not play the final two games.

The only rookie on either team this season is wide receiver Anquan Boldin of Arizona, who has 86 receptions, third in the NFC.

McNair is joined at quarterback on the AFC squad by Peyton Manning of Indianapolis and Trent Green of Kansas City. The NFC quarterbacks are McNabb, Brett Favre of Green Bay and Daunte Culpepper of Minnesota.

The starters will be announced at a later date.

Copyright 2003 by The Associated Press