Colts' Manning sets record for Pro Bowl fan votes

NEW YORK -- Two-time NFL MVP Peyton Manning received a record 1,184,142 votes to lead the fans' balloting for the 2006 Pro Bowl.

Fan voting concluded on Friday with a record 70.5 million votes cast.

Although the Colts' star quarterback got the most votes, he was trailed closely by four players:

Seattle Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander (1,110,575 votes); San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (1,044,360); Cincinnati Bengals receiver Chad Johnson (987,650); and Chargers tight end Antonio Gates (941,846).

Tops among defensive players was Chicago Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher with 447,145, followed by Denver Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey (379,477).

Players and coaches also vote for Pro Bowlers. The teams will be announced Wednesday. The game is in Honolulu on Feb. 12.