Datsyuk beats out Staal, Kesler

Updated: June 23, 2010, 9:12 PM ET
Associated Press

LAS VEGAS -- Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward for the third straight year.

Selke was honored Wednesday as part of the league's award ceremony. He beat the Vancouver Canucks' Ryan Kesler and Pittsburgh Penguins' Jordan Staal, the other Selke finalists.

Datsyuk is the first player to win it three years in a row since the Montreal Canadiens' Bob Gainey captured the award four straight times from 1978-81.

Datsyuk ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?