Marc Crawford upset about non-call

Updated: December 9, 2010, 1:30 AM ET
By Jesse Rogers | ESPNChicago.com

Dallas Stars coach Marc Crawford was fuming after a 5-3 loss to the Chicago Blackhawks on Wednesday night.

Crawford believes the referees missed a call at the end of the game that would have given his team a penalty shot with under 10 seconds to play.

"You can't miss a call like that at the end of the game," Crawford said. "There is no excuse. A guy throws his stick. It's a penalty shot in every sense of the word. Every sense of the word. One referee is looking right at it. He misses it. They've given us five penalties, maybe six in the game and they miss a call that's a clear penalty shot? A clear penalty shot. How do guys miss that? Because that is the easiest call, the easiest call in the book to make."

With eight seconds remaining in a 4-3 game, Stars defenseman Trevor Daley went around Brent Seabrook in the Blackhawks zone. As Seabrook turned to recover, he fell and his stick went flying in the direction of Daley. NHL Rule 53.6 states "anyone who throws or shoots any part of a stick or any other object or piece of equipment at the puck or puck carrier in his defending zone, the Referee or Linesman shall allow the play to be completed and if a goal is not scored, a penalty shot shall be awarded to the non-offending team."

Seabrook said losing his stick was accidental.

"I was caught flat-footed and I caught an edge," he said. "[My] stick just came out when I hit the ice and I think the referee realized that. I don't know. It could have been a penalty. It would have been a tough one."

Crawford wasn't buying it.

"When a guy throws his stick, it's an automatic penalty shot. That's the call, that's the call," Crawford said. "Everybody in the crowd saw it, everybody in the broadcast saw it, everybody on the benches saw it but nobody else saw it. The people that were important didn't see it. Hey, at the end of the day it's a tough loss for our team but at the same time it gets frustrating when you miss obvious calls like that."

Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville was sympathetic but didn't agree with the intent.

"He fell from so high and he's extending his stick," Quenneville said. "I don't think he was intending on doing what they were thinking. You could argue that. It's tough to prove and it's instincts by the referee. Knowing Seabs [Seabrook], I don't think that was the intent."

Replays did not give away Seabrook's intent.

Witnesses say Crawford had strong words for the referees, tracking them down after the game.

The Stars were called for six minor penalties in the game while the Blackhawks' lone infraction was a too many men on the ice call early in the third period.

Jesse Rogers covers the Blackhawks for ESPNChicago.com and ESPN 1000.

Jesse Rogers | email

Chicago Cubs beat reporter
Jesse joined ESPN Chicago in September 2009 and covers the Chicago Cubs for ESPNChicago.com and ESPN Radio 1000.

ALSO SEE