No previous medal winners on U.S. rowing team

Updated: July 8, 2004, 4:05 PM ET
Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS -- Rower Laurel Korholz earned her third trip to the Summer Games, joining 14 other Olympic veterans on the U.S. team going to Athens.

The 45-member roster does not include any past Olympic medal winners.

Korholz will race on the women's eight boat, the elite rowing event.

The others with Olympic experience are Chris Ahrens, Pete Cipollone, Jennifer Devine, Hilary Gehman, Sarah Jones, Wolf Moser, Lianne Nelson, Henry Nuzum, Greg Ruckman, Kelly Salchow, Paul Teti, Steve Tucker, Bryan Volpenhein, and Mike Wherley.

There are 14 rowing events at next month's Olympics. The United States will race in 12, having failed to qualify boats in men's single sculls or women's double sculls.

At the 2000 Sydney Games, Americans won three medals: a silver in the men's pair, a bronze in the women's pair, and a bronze in the lightweight women's double sculls.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press