Hammer wins individual pursuit at cycling worlds

Updated: April 13, 2006, 3:31 PM ET
Associated Press

BORDEAUX, France -- American Sarah Hammer won the individual pursuit Thursday at the Track Cycling World Championships, the first title for an American since Marty Nothstein won the men's keirin in 1996.

Hammer beat Olga Slyusareva of Russia over 1.86 miles, winning in 3:37.227. Defending champion Katie Mactier of Australia was third.

Natallia Tsylinskaya of Belarus won the 500-meter time trial in 34.152 seconds, followed by Anna Meares of Australia in 34.352. Lisandra Guerra Rodriguez of Cuba in third.

Tsylinskaya won the event for the fourth time. Meares, the defending Olympic champion and record holder in the discipline, lost her title to Tsylinskaya last year in Los Angeles.

France beat defending champion Britain in the men's team sprint. Gregory Bauge, Mickael Bourgain and Arnaud Tournant won in 43.969 seconds, with Britain finishing in 44.194.

France won the event for the seventh time since 1997.

Copyright 2006 by The Associated Press