Hoy wins third Track Cycling Worlds time trial


BORDEAUX, France -- Britain's Chris Hoy won the one-kilometer time trial for a third time at the Track Cycling World Championships on Friday.

Hoy, who also won the title in 2002 and 2004, clocked 1 minute, 1.36 seconds to beat Ben Kersten of Australia (1:02.08). Frenchman Francois Pervis was third.

"I went really hard, I didn't feel so much pressure," Hoy said.

In the individual pursuit, Germany's Robert Bartko collected his second straight world title. He clocked 4:23.47 over four laps to beat Jens Mouris of the Netherlands (4:42.48). Paul Manning of Britain won the bronze from France's Fabien Sanchez.

Dutch rider Theo Bos won the keirin. Jose Antonio Escuredo of Spain was second and France's Arnaud Tournant placed third.

Italy's Vera Carrara retained the women's points race title she won last year in Los Angeles, denying runner-up Olga Slyusareva of Russia a fifth title in the event.

Carrara and Slyusareva had 35 points, but Carrara won overall by dominating the 10th and final sprint. Spain's Gema Pascual Torrecilla placed third with 32 points.

The competition continues Saturday and ends Sunday.