Phelps wins performance of year

9/20/2009 - Olympic Sports

CHICAGO -- Two-time Olympian Ryan Lochte is USA Swimming's athlete of the year for winning five medals at the world championships.

Lochte's medal haul in Rome included four golds.

Michael Phelps, a 14-time Olympic gold medalist, was honored with the performance of the year award for his dramatic win in the 100-meter butterfly at the world championships.

Phelps' coach, Bob Bowman, was chosen coach of the quadrennial; Eddie Reese was coach of the year; Bill Rose was developmental coach of the year; and Jimi Flowers, who died in July, was the disability coach of the year.

Emily Brunemann was female open water swimmer of the year. Andrew Gemmel and Fran Crippen shared the men's open water award.

The awards, voted on by coaches, athletes and media, were presented Saturday night at USA Swimming's annual convention in Chicago.