Torres, Beard, Coughlin named captains of U.S. swim team


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Five-time Olympian Dara Torres,
four-time Olympian Amanda Beard and Natalie Coughlin, who won five
medals four years ago in Athens, were chosen as captains of the
U.S. Olympic women's swimming team.

Three-time Olympians Erik Vendt and Jason Lezak, along with
two-time Olympian Brendan Hansen, were named captains of the men's
team in Beijing.

The captains announced Wednesday were decided in a team vote at
the U.S. training camp in California last week.

The U.S. team is currently training in Singapore before leaving
Monday for Beijing.

The Olympic swimming competition begins Aug. 9.