Michael Phelps headlines worlds team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Michael Phelps, Ryan Lochte and Natalie Coughlin will headline the U.S. swim team at the 2011 world championships in Shanghai, the last major international meet before the 2012 London Olympics.

Phelps and Lochte are set to swim four individual events each. Phelps could qualify for at least two of the three relays, while Lochte is set to swim at least one.

Besides Coughlin, the women's team includes Katie Hoff, who failed to make the 2009 world team; three-time Olympian Amanda Beard, who returns after having a baby; and Teresa Crippen, whose brother Fran, an open water swimmer, died in December at a meet in the Middle East.

Eddie Reese of Texas will coach the men's team, while Frank Busch of Arizona will coach the women.

The pool events will be July 24-31, while open water events will be held July 19-23. The open water team will be chosen later this year.

The rest of the men's team is: Nathan Adrian, Mike Alexandrov, Ricky Berens, Tyler Clary, Conor Dwyer, Mark Gangloff, Charlie Houchin, Chad LaTourette, Jason Lezak, Tyler McGill, David Plummer, Scot Robison, Eric Shanteau, Scott Spann, Nick Thoman, Peter Vanderkaay, David Walters and Garrett Weber-Gale.

Also on the women's team are: Elizabeth Beisel, Missy Franklin, Jessica Hardy, Kathleen Hersey, Kara Lynn Joyce, Dagny Knutson, Ariana Kukors, Caitlin Leverenz, Christine Magnuson, Elizabeth Pelton, Allison Schmitt, Morgan Scoggy, Rebecca Soni, Chloe Sutton, Jasmine Tosky, Dana Vollmer, Amanda Weir and Kate Ziegler.