Scarberry takes Jayhawk finale

Rick Scarberry 

Rick Scarberry of Lamar, Mo., took the boater victory in the fourth and final edition of the Jayhawk Division contested on El Dorado Lake out of the El Dorado State Park in Kansas. His five-fish limit weighed in at 9 pounds, 15 ounces. Kevin Miller, Chris Brimager, Clinton Milbourne and Gale Brown rounded out the top five on the boater side. Brimager, of Andover, Kan., secured Big Bass honors for boaters with a 3-4 specimen.

Justin Bengston of Manhattan, Kan., took the non-boater victory. He was closely followed by Jacob Dillon, Mike Case, Shane Pickett and Macario Holguin. Sam West of Sedgwick, Kan., reeled in the Big Bass for non-boaters with a 3-3.

The Jayhawk Division Point Champions were crowned at the conclusion of the final event as well. The Boater Division Champion is Randy Stovall of Wichita, Kan. The Non-boater Division Champ is Jack Deatherage also from Wichita.

The Jayhawk Division anglers have completed their chase for points in 2006. The top 30 anglers on each side will advance to regional competition on Table Rock Lake near Kimberling City, Mo., on October 26-28. There, they will compete in a 150-boat field for the opportunity to advance to the coveted Bassmaster Series National Championship.