Discussion

Past champion's provisional entry limited to six

Updated: January 31, 2007, 5:04 PM ET
By David Newton | ESPN.com

CONCORD, N.C. -- Just call it the Dale Jarrett Rule for now.

As reported on ESPN.com last week, NASCAR officials announced on Wednesday that a past champion's provisional can be used only six times in a 36-race season.

In addition, a team with a past champion eligible may use the provisional only six times, meaning a second former champion can't be brought in to take advantage of the rule.

In the past, there was no limit on the usage of the provisional, which ...

Read full story

Comments

You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?

ESPN TOP HEADLINES

MOST SENT STORIES ON ESPN.COM