Gordon's skid can't last forever

He's one of the best in NASCAR history, but four-time Cup champ Jeff Gordon hasn't won since Oct. 13, 2007. Just when will this losing streak end?

Updated: January 30, 2009, 7:35 PM ET
By Ed Hinton | ESPN.com

Nobody expects Jeff Gordon to go winless again this year.

But then, nobody expected him to go winless last year.

These things can set in, for long periods, no matter the driver.

When Dale Earnhardt finally won the Daytona 500 in 1998, he broke a 59-race losing streak on the Cup tour and proclaimed that he was off toward an eighth championship. He didn't win again that year.

When Richard Petty won the Daytona 500 of 1979, he broke a losing streak that had persisted ...

Read full story


You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?