Biffle grabs pole while 40 others break Darlington qualifying record

5/9/2008 - NASCAR

DARLINGTON, S.C. -- Greg Biffle was the fastest of 41 drivers who broke the qualifying record at Darlington Raceway and won the pole for Saturday night's Sprint Cup race. Biffle turned a lap of 179.442 miles per hour on a speedy new track surface. That topped the old record of 173.797 mph set in 1996.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. qualified second and Jimmie Johnson turned in the third-fastest time.