Evernham to rotate Nationwide crew chiefs for evaluation


STATESVILLE, N.C. -- Gillett Evernham Motorsports will rotate its three NASCAR Sprint Cup crew chiefs on the team's No. 9 Nationwide Series entry for the remainder of this season.

Drivers Kasey Kahne, Elliott Sadler, Patrick Carpentier and Chase Miller have taken turns racing the No. 9 Dodge this year, and team officials said each will race at least once in the final 10 events of the season.

Kenny Francis will serve as crew chief when Kahne drives the Nationwide car at Charlotte. Mike Shiplett will oversee Carpentier's races at Dover and Phoenix, and Rodney Childers will do the same with Sadler at Bristol, Richmond, and Kansas. Kevin Kidd will serve as crew chief when Miller races at California, Texas and Homestead and when Miller races the No. 19 at Charlotte. A crew chief for Miller's Memphis race will be picked later.

"This allows our Sprint Cup crew chiefs and drivers to gather more data in the Nationwide Series races, which we think will aid our Sprint Cup programs," said Mark McArdle, GEM's vice president of competition.

The No. 9 Dodge is 15th in owner points going into Friday night's race at Bristol.