Fans pick greatest Indy 500 lineup

5/15/2011 - IndyCar

INDIANAPOLIS -- A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser are back on the front row at the Indianapolis 500.

Racing fans chose the trio of four-time Indy winners as the three greatest drivers in race history. The selections were made online by fans. Voting ended Saturday.

Three-time winners Bobby Unser, Helio Castroneves and Johnny Rutherford make up the second row. Mario Andretti, Wilbur Shaw and Bill Vukovich are on Row 3.

Foyt was the No. 1 vote-getter.

There was a definite modern flavor to the "dream lineup."

Only nine selections drove during the first half-century of the 500. Three drivers trying to make this year's 33-car starting grid -- Castroneves, Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon -- made the list.