Aussie Open celebrates 100 years

Updated: January 12, 2005, 5:05 PM ET

The Australian Open by the numbers
3 The number of names for the Australian Open since 1905: The Australasian Championships, The Australian Championships and finally The Australian Open.
7 Different venues: Melbourne (49 tournaments), Sydney (17), Adelaide (14), Brisbane (7), Perth (3), and Christchurch, New Zealand (1), Hastings, New Zealand (1).
1st Women began play at the Championships in 1922. The first female champion was Margaret Molesworth. The first men's title was won by Rodney Heath, in 1905.
100 2005 marks the 93rd event held in the past 100 years. The Australian Open was not played during the first and second World Wars and was held twice in 1977 and not at all in 1986.
13 Most Australian Open titles won by a man: Adrian Quist
21 Most Australian Open titles won by a woman: Margaret Smith Court
93 The most singles titles won by any country -- Australia.
62 The number of singles and doubles titles that Australian Margaret Smith Court won during her career, including the Grand Slam in 1970. Court still holds the record for most titles won by a male or female. She will present the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup to the winner of the women's singles on Jan. 29.
2 Grand Slams -- all four majors in a calendar year -- won by Australian Rod Laver, who is the only player in the history of tennis (male or female) to win the Grand Slam twice, in 1962 and 1969. Laver will present the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup to the winner of the men's singles on Jan. 30.