SportsNation Blog Archives Gaby Sanchez
Baseball loves its statistics, and what the Marlins and Nationals lack in VORP, WAR, OPS and other measures of actual success, they more than make up for in entertainment-per-customer (EPC). That the Marlins won Wednesday's game 16-10 is, frankly, irrelevant, even if it does leave them 7.5 back of the wild card. The story is Nationals outfielder Nyjer Morgan and whether the Marlins overreacted or did the rest of the league a favor.
Let's set the scene with some of Morgan's highlights since throwing a ball at a fan in Philadelphia on Aug. 22 (he's appealing a seven-game suspension).
Aug. 28: Morgan goes out of his way to run into Cardinals catcher Bryan Anderson, despite there being no play at the plate. In the process, he missed home plate, is called out for contact and separates Anderson's shoulder. See the video from MLB.com.
Aug. 31: Morgan tries to score from second on a grounder to second base and collides with Marlins catcher Brett Hayes when the ball easily beats him home. Like Anderson, Hayes ends up with a separated shoulder. See the video from MLB.com.
Wednesday: The Marlins hit Morgan in the fourth inning, presumably as retaliation for running into Hayes the night before. With his team trailing 14-3, Morgan stole second and third and eventually scored. When he came up again in the sixth, pitcher Chris Volstad threw behind his back, setting off the fracas in the video at the top of this post.
So was Morgan in the wrong on all occasions? Did the Marlins overreact? And does Marlins first baseman Gaby Sanchez have a future in wrestling? Vote on Nyjer Morgan vs. Marlins!
Morgan is just a bonehead who never thinks before he acts, i dont care about "unwritten" rules... play smart, make good decisions and be a classy player, he is none of those and he needs to be released” -- pvjv725
He's done a complete 180 from last season and deserves a non-tender IMO...the stupid mental errors and all of a sudden the choice to hit catchers whenever given the chance makes me wish he wasn't in a Nationals uni” -- LUWahooNatFan
Marlins manager Edwin Rodriguez called it "the worst call I've ever seen in my 30 years of professional baseball." By early this morning, umpire Bob Davidson's Wikipedia page (yes, umpires have Wikipedia pages) had been updated to include it alongside the controversial call Davidson made involving a triple-play-that-wasn't in the 1992 World Series.
But did Davidson actually get the call right in negating a potential game-winning hit by Florida's Gaby Sanchez with two outs in the bottom of the ninth against the Phillies?
Who doesn't like a little stitled rules language with their morning coffee? Let's go to the official MLB rules:
So while the ball clearly lands in fair territory on the outfield grass, was it fair when it passed over the bag at third base? Check out the video above (something MLB might want to consider letting its umpires do) and decide for yourself.
the ball did land in fair territory passed the bag, but that has no relevance. davidson saw the ball in foul territory when it crossed 3rd base. the ball did some funky things, so it very well could have rounded 3rd base in foul terrritory. davidson got severak other calls exactly right and i wouldn't doubt him on that call either.” -- skyrmj1
Mr. Davidson ... admit you made a mistake. the ball was fair before it got to third and it was fair when it went behind third, so unless it was a wicked curve ball - the ball was fair. Just admit you blew the call, and quit guessing out there. it is tough to call it when your head was turned away after the first bounce.” -- budwhy
the ball was never foul. The bounce right before 3rd base was directly on the chalk. So the ball would've had to defy physics by bouncing fair...go over the bag foul...and then bounce further fair after the bag....that's some magical ball.” -- da_suit