Team will play U.S. Olympic team

Updated: July 15, 2004, 10:31 PM ET
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Connecticut Sun stars Nykesha Sales and Taj McWilliams-Franklin will start for the WNBA All-Star team that will play the U.S. Olympic squad.

The WNBA selected its five starters Thursday for the game Aug. 5 at Radio City Music Hall. Joining Sales at forward will be Detroit's Cheryl Ford. McWilliams-Franklin will be the center, while the guards will be Nikki Teasley of Los Angeles and Anna DeForge of Phoenix.

Washington's Chamique Holdsclaw was selected as a starting forward, but will be unable to participate because of a prior commitment to run a basketball camp.

Detroit Shock coach Bill Laimbeer will coach the WNBA team. Laimbeer and his staff will select the five reserves next Thursday.

The final player on the roster will be chosen by fans through voting on the league's Web site.

Many of the top WNBA players are on the U.S. squad: Sue Bird of Seattle, Swin Cash of Detroit, Tamika Catchings of Indiana, Yolanda Griffith of Sacramento, Shannon Johnson of San Antonio, Lisa Leslie and DeLisha Milton-Jones of Los Angeles, Katie Smith of Minnesota, Dawn Staley of Charlotte, Sheryl Swoopes of Houston, Diana Taurasi of Phoenix and Tina Thompson of Houston.

Milton-Jones underwent right knee surgery Monday and is expected to miss the Olympics.

Copyright 2004 by The Associated Press