Leslie wins defensive player of year for second time

Updated: September 19, 2008, 7:48 PM ET
Associated Press

Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie was named the defensive player of the year by the WNBA on Friday.

Leslie received 20 votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Tamika Catchings finished second with 16 points.

Leslie, who also won the award in 2004, will receive a trophy and $5,000.

Leslie led the WNBA in blocks with 97. She is the league's all-time leading rebounder and collected 209 defensive rebounds this season.

Leslie and Catchings lead the all-defensive first team. They are joined by San Antonio Silver Stars forward Sophia Young, Sacramento Monarchs guard Ticha Penicheiro and Indiana Fever guard Tully Bevilaqua.

Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles, Detroit Shock guard Deanna Nolan, Seattle Storm forward Lauren Jackson, Sacramento Monarchs forward Rebekkah Brunson and Detroit Shock guard Katie Smith are on the second team.

Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press